AVAILABLE 24/7
GET YOUR FREE CASE ANALYSIS NOW
315.215.0517

Syracuse DWI Attorneys

Explore Your Options with Team Green Lawyers, Serving Central New York.

It only takes a momentary lapse in judgment to find yourself accused of drunk driving. These are criminal charges that occur among all ages and walks of life and often occur to drivers who have never been in trouble with the law before. Regardless of your circumstances, if you have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) it is advised you speak with an experienced defense attorney immediately.

Our Syracuse DWI and DWAI lawyers at Team Green Lawyers understand the challenges and concerns drunk driving defendants face as they confront the allegations against them. Many of them believe that pleading guilty is the quickest way to resolve their case—but are unaware that they have viable defense options. Our team of former prosecutors can help you assess those options and ensure your rights and interests are remain a priority throughout every stage of your case.

You do not have to face your drunk driving charge alone. Contact our firm today to request a free initial consultation.

Understanding DWI in Central New York

A drunk driving offense in New York is called DWI (commonly called "DUI" in other states). Anyone caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more can be charged with DWI. The BAC limit for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.02 percent.

The penalties for a first-time DWI charge can include:

  • Six-month license suspension
  • Vehicle confiscation
  • Ignition interlock device (to be installed after license suspension)
  • Court-mandated alcohol education and/or treatment
  • Fines
  • Jail time (in rare cases)

Please note that for repeat offenses, these penalties become more severe. For more information on your DWI charge, call our offices today.

"Driving While Ability Impaired"

DWAI stands for Driving While Ability Impaired. It is a minor charge that is reserved for drivers who may be under the legal BAC limit but are still believed to be impaired while behind the wheel. Those with a BAC between 0.05 and 0.07 percent can be charged with DWAI. If you or a loved one has been charged with Driving While Ability Impaired, call our offices today.

Implied Consent

New York has an implied consent law, which means that drivers are obligated to submit to a breathalyzer, urine, or blood test when requested by the police. Refusing to cooperate with this request can result in further administrative penalties. A first-time refusal will result in a license revocation of at least one year and a $500 civil fine. These are in addition to any penalties that may result from your DWI charge.

If you have been arrested for drunk driving and refused a breathalyzer test, it is critical that you speak with a lawyer that knows both the criminal and administrative challenges of DWI cases. Our Syracuse drunk driving lawyers can help you navigate this process and ensure that you are protected from as many penalties as possible.

We're ready to stand with you during this critical time. Call our former prosecutors at (315) 215-0517 today. We are available 24/7 and offer a free case analysis.

The Defense Firm You Have Been Looking For

Why Put Team Green Lawyers On Your Side?
  • Trusted Representation

    Our honest, transparent approach to criminal defense helps us better protect our clients' best interests.

  • We Know How to Win.

    As former prosecutors with 70+ years of experience, we leverage our insight to benefit our clients.

  • 24/7 Access to Our Team

    We are dedicated to being a faithful and reliable support system to all of our clients.

  • Free Case Consultations

    Our team is available to consult you on how to get out of the difficult situation you are in.